Myerscough confirms 2018-19 EYBL roster


PRESTON, Lancs – Myerscough Basketball Academy and head coach Neal Hopkins have finalised the 2018-19 roster to compete in the European Youth Basketball League (EYBL).

Myerscough returns seven players from the 2017-18 Elite Academy Basketball League (EABL) West Conference regular season championship squad to make the jump to the EYBL.

Three starters return, including EABL West All-Second Team guard Mate Okros, forward Callan Low, who is ranked No. 10 in the current Deng Top 50, and third-year guard Rayon Brown.

Other returners include a trio of Deng Top 50 players — Jamie Gray, Lewis McGlasson and Demi Adenuga — and Tim Collier.

Five newcomers have joined the Myerscough programme for 2018-19. Amari Williams is a 6-9 forward from Nottingham, who featured with Great Britain at the 2018 FIBA U16 European Championships. Corey Samuels is a 6-0 guard from Bristol that averaged 3.6 assists in the EABL a season ago. Sanmi Fajana, ranked 14th in the current Deng Top 50, is a 6-8 forward from Dublin, Ireland. Samuel Keita, who also attended the camp in his hometown of London, is a 6-10 forward. Lucas Hamill is a 6-6 forward from Stirling, Scotland, who helped lead his club to the U18 SBC Playoff Championship title in 2018.

Uniform numbers for the newcomers include No. 4 for Samuels, No. 12 for Hamill, No. 14 for Fajana, No. 21 for Williams and No. 23 for Keita.

Myerscough opens up its EYBL schedule on Friday in Tallinn, Estonia against TTÜ Korvpallikool at 12:30 p.m. local time.

Here’s a full list of uniform numbers for the 2018-19 team:

4 – Corey Samuels
7 – Mate Okros
8 – Lewis McGlasson
9 – Rayon Brown
10 – Tim Collier
11 – Callan Low
12 – Lucas Hamill
13 – Demi Adenuga
14 – Sanmi Fajana
15 – Jamie Gray
21 – Amari Williams
23 – Samuel Keita

@My_bball | #MySco